for the journey, not the message

Four Thousand Islands, Laos

After four months of rushing around the world I found myself in the south of Laos, and I was in desperate need of a bit of relaxation. I had just met these two awesome guys from Liverpool, Jamie and Mike, and they were heading for the Four Thousand Islands, in the Mekong River, Laos. I was in Pakse, I had to meet somebody there, but the town had little going for it, and the guys thankfully persuaded me to go with them, a move which turned out to be probably one of the best I made on my travels. We arrived at the port to get to the Islands after a three hour ride in the back of a pick up truck, our bags being drenched with rain from the impending monsoon, and the three of us had made the mistake of bringing absolutely no money with us, well I think at the time I had the Laos equivalent of twenty something pence. After a few hours of speaking to confused locals, we managed to scrape enough cash together to afford the boat fare to the islands, where there was apparently some dodgy guy with a card machine who was willing to give us cash. We took the chance and went for it. Paradise awaited us on the other side. The weather cleared up the next day, perfect blue skies all day, and sunsets which left the most manly of men gasping for breath. I fell in love with this place, and it’s somewhere i’ve promised myself i’ll go back to. After a week Jamie and Mike had to move on, I stayed a few more days, my camera had decided to recover from serious salt water damage it had picked up in Noosa, Australia, and I wanted to take photos.

These photos don’t do the place justice, I almost feel bad posting them. This place is Paradise. All the photos were taken with a 18-55mm kit lens, damn I needed a wide angle and marco lens with me!

24 responses

  1. Amazing pictures. Love this!!

    18.January.2012 at 8.42pm

  2. amazing photos! Like the colors very much!!
    regards and have a nice travel
    xandi

    18.January.2012 at 9.12pm

    • thanks, i’m back in England now, but i’ve got some exciting plans for the summer

      20.January.2012 at 4.59am

  3. Beautiful images – looks like an amazing place 🙂

    18.January.2012 at 10.33pm

    • easily one of the best places on this world!

      20.January.2012 at 5.00am

  4. Waw, amazing pictures! The first one is my favorite!

    18.January.2012 at 10.57pm

    • thanks, I know I shouldn’t blame anything on the equipment, but for that photo, I WISH i had more than just my kit lens with me!

      20.January.2012 at 5.01am

  5. kristianzhe

    My favourite picture are number 4, amazing!

    19.January.2012 at 1.08am

    • the photo cannot even nearly compare to seeing the sunset through eyes, this was probably the most beautiful natural weather i’ve ever seen. I think maybe only the northern lights could compare (not that i’ve seen them….yet)

      20.January.2012 at 5.02am

  6. Number four is fantastic. I keep going back and looking at it.

    19.January.2012 at 1.11am

  7. TBM

    Wonderful photos.

    19.January.2012 at 8.52am

  8. I’m very envious of you. But thank you for sharing your experiences. I’m enjoying the vicariousness/vicariousotity/vicariousence.

    19.January.2012 at 9.31am

  9. You have a great eye

    19.January.2012 at 11.26pm

    • twenty twenty vision 😉 (although not for much longer if I stay glued to my laptop screen)

      20.January.2012 at 5.04am

  10. polly

    I also wanted to go to the area, beautiful photos

    20.January.2012 at 11.23pm

  11. sandy

    Great photos, and such variety!

    21.January.2012 at 8.15pm

  12. itchierfeet

    This looks like the south east Asia I remember. Lovely.

    24.January.2012 at 11.36am

  13. Looks amazing!

    24.January.2012 at 4.24pm

  14. Beautiful photos!

    25.January.2012 at 9.35am

  15. Beautiful photos
    I enjoyed them a lot
    cant wait to see more
    Please check my painting’s website when you have a chance
    loniduekart.wordpress.com

    26.January.2012 at 2.30am

  16. beautiful photos… that last one is absolutely stunning!

    26.January.2012 at 2.33am

  17. Fantastic pics! I went to Laos many years ago and just loved every moment there. Beautiful country and beautiful people.

    29.January.2012 at 1.34am

Leave a Reply

